Lao Press in Foreign Languages

Vientiane Times, the first English newspaper in the Lao People's Democratic Republic, officially launched as a weekly tabloid in April 1994. By 1996 the newspaper published twice weekly on Tuesdays and Fridays, expanding to Monday to Friday in 2004 and adding a Saturday edition in 2007.

The newspaper covers a wide range of domestic and international news and provides information reflecting government policy and socio-economic development in the Lao PDR.

Vientiane Times is part of the Lao Press in Foreign Languages, a specialised agency of the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism. The press agency is managed by a board of directors and manned by over 60 staff, including reporters and administrative officials. The founders of the newspaper included Mr Somsanouk Mixay, who is also
Former Director General and Editor-in-Chief of Lao Press in Foreign Languages, Mr Savankhone Razmountry, who is also former Director General and Editor-in-Chief of the paper, Mr Thongsavath Chansombath the former Director General and Editor-in-Chief of the paper.

Director General and Editor-in-Chief of Lao Press in Foreign Languages: Thonglor Duangsavanh
Deputy Director General of Lao Press in Foreign Languages and Managing Editor of Vientiane Times: Phonekeo Vorakhoun
Deputy Director General of Lao Press in Foreign Languages: Ms Phonesavanh Thikeo


1. Mr Sisay Vilaysack
2. Mr Somsack Pongkao
3. Mr Ekaphone Phouthonesy
4. Mr Souksakhone Vaenkeo
5. Mr Meuangkham Noradeth
6. Mr Khamphone Syvongsay
7. Mr Sangkhomsay Phoubphanouvong
8. Mr Somxay Sengdara
9. Mr Phaisythong Chandara
10. Mr Phetsamone Chandara
11. Mr Phetphosay Sengpaseuth
12. Ms Keoviengkhone Bounviseth
13. Mr Khamphan Lasamouth
14. Mr Phomphong Laoin
15. Ms Siladda Souliyong
16. Ms Souksamai Boulom
17. Ms Viengdavanh Banphahaksa


1. Mr Manichanh Pansivongsay
2. Mr Khonsavanh Latsaphao
3. Mr Phonsavanh Vongsay
4. Mr Ounkham Phimmata
5. Mr Bounfaeng Phaymanivong
6. Ms Sonesavanh Souliyaphak
7. Mr Patithin Phetmeuangphuan
8. Mr Sisouphan Amphonephong
9. Mr Visith Teppalath

IT staff

1. Ms Malaythong Phayanouvong
Ms Vansoukhy Thammavong
3. Mr Xayxana Leukai
4. Ms Amphavanh Souvannalath
5. Ms Samly Singhanath
6. Ms Viphaphone Phommabouth
7. Mr Vanhphachanh Sengphongphanh

Administrative staff

1. Mr Oudom Souvannasinh
2. Mr Panyasith Sensouphon
3. Ms Somphone Vongsa

4. Mr Sengathith Sompanya
5. Ms Chansamone Xaypanya
6. Ms Chanthachon Phaosadakhom
7. Ms Khonemany Oudom
8. Ms Lina Matxaypadith
9. Ms Monekhai Inthirath
10. Mr Phoutthakone Phonharath
11. Mr Vixian Insysiengmay
12. Ms khamphao Vongkesone
13. Soukphasone Siphet

Advertisement and Distribution

1. Mr Phoutthasack Inthakhoummane
2. Ms Latdavong Yommalath
3. Mr Bounthong Kongmany
4. Mr Somsanith Sensouphoun
5. Ms Soukchay Sorsanavongsa
6. Ms Vatsana Sisomvang
7. Mr Chansavath Chansombath

Online News

1. Mr Souknilundon Southivongnorath
2. Mr Panyasith Thammavongsa
3. Ms Keoxomphou Sakdavong
4. Mr Phoonsab Thevongsa

. Mr Somphavanh Siramath
6. Mr Bouaphanh Vibounsak


Newspaper Subscription l Newspaper Advertisement l Online Advertisement l Online Subscription

Vientiane Times Phonpapao Village, Unit 32, Sisattanak District, P.O.Box: 5723 Vientiane, Lao PDR
Tel: (856-21) 336042, 336048, Fax: (856-21) 336041

Copyright © 1999 Vientiane Times Newspaper.