Home Lao Chinese

Country’s second solidarity district announced in Borikhamxay

Thaphabath district has been declared as a new solidarity district, the first of its kind for Borikhamxay province and the second solidarity district in the country.
The new solidarity district was officially approved by the organising committee, the Lao Front for National Development in Thaphabath district, and residents and officials took part in a ceremony yesterday to celebrate the occasion.
According to an official report, the nation’s first solidarity district was Ngeun district in Xayaboury province.
During the ceremony, an official in charge of the solidarity district organising committee, Mr Phouvong Phimmasone, reported that Thaphabath was founded in 1986, and now has nearly 30,000 people living in 26 villages.
Thaphabath was approved as a new solidarity district after it fulfilled standards set by the Lao Front for National Development.
These state that local people should live in solidarity, practise gender equality, help one another, and should be not divided by ethnicity or religion.
Villagers should be politically astute, comply with the regulations and laws, and contribute to local activities.
In solidarity districts, all households jointly enhance their culture, children can meet education standards, everyone can get health care, all villages have been lifted out of poverty, and communities have funding groups for development and jointly maintain and sustainably make use of the environment.

By Times Reporters
(Latest Update August 14, 2019)

Newspaper Subscription l Newspaper Advertisement l Online Advertisement l Online Subscription

Vientiane Times Phonpapao Village, Unit 32, Sisattanak District, P.O.Box: 5723 Vientiane, Lao PDR
Tel: (856-21) 336042, 336048, Fax: (856-21) 336041

Copyright © 1999 Vientiane Times.